New Year’s Resolutions!

New Year's ResolutionsThis year, I promised myself that I would change some things in my everyday life, in order to make it better, calmer and basically healthier!

Let’s start from the definition of a new year’s resolutions. According to the dictionary of Cambridge University, new year’s resolutions are the promises that we make to ourselves to start doing good things and stop doing bad things on the first day of the year.
The most important thing during this process is to take doable decisions and not things that you know in advance that you are not willing to follow, otherwise you will do the exact same thing.
Below I will share with you the Do’s and Dont’s for my 2017.
Do’s:
1. Eat (a healthy) breakfast
breakfast-juice-fruit-cereal-bowlAs many of you may already know, breakfast is the most important meal of the day because it is the one that will give to your body the energy it needs in order to cope with all the difficult tasks of the day. The reason I put the words “a healthy” into parenthesis is because the need for breakfast is so vast, that it is not such a big deal of some days of the week your breakfast leans more towards something you enjoy more, than something healthy, because eating something we like works as an incentive.
Personally, I prefer a glass of milk with cereals, or a toast with a piece of cheese.
2. Exercise at least once a day
exercise-outside-woman-stock-today-150427-tease_72497df9c4ab67a1d1a016b22206a5af-today-inline-largeDaily exercise is a mandatory step that we should all follow. The easiest thing is to use the stairs instead of the elevator and even this small move can get you into the feeling of the workout nature. Another easy-to-do exercise is a 15-20 minutes jogging session near/around your house. A round around your house before you leave for your work, or when you get back is the best thing that does not require a large dedication of time and energy. I prefer going for a walk in the park near home and I walk in a faster rhythm for at least 4 km.
3. Begin your day with positive thoughts
33a8f818bb2b9b35b6658cf05fa3082eThere is nothing better than starting your day with positive thinking. I can’t give you a specific recipe on that because there is not one, but what I do is saying thank you for all the things I have, for mine and my families health, for my studies’ progress/my job, anything that I have.
The most significant thing is to understand that all the things we have are not taken for granted and we should really feel grateful for them. I am sure that if you start your days by feeling pleased for everything you have -that not everybody does- you will feel better for sure and the rest of your day will pass positively and with a lot more energy!
4. Drink (at least) 2 Lts of water per day
1492382-a-glass-of-fresh-and-clear-waterFor some people this may be obvious, but trust me, many people do not drink as much water as they should daily and this is why it is one of the promises I made to myself for 2017. Personally, I really like water, but there are some days that I don’t feel like drinking so much, or some days that my schedule is heavier, I just forget to drink some water. However, it is very important to drink at least 2 liters per day. I always keep a bottle of water with me, so that I can refill it many times throughout the day.
5. Establish a day of the year that you will do your regular check up
regular-medical-check-up
As we use to say in Greece, “prolepsis saves lives,” and this is why a check up can prevent serious illnesses. It is very important to keep track of our health in order to avoid sudden incidents that are negative for us and our relatives.
Don’ts:
1. Postpone things that you should do
postponeSomething we all do at some points of our lives, when something we have to do is not that interesting for us, or we do not really want to do it, is to postpone it. Take for example the case of the 5th “Do” I gave you above. If you postpone your regular check up, you could end up in health situations that will be very difficult to solve later. Unfortunately I have a case in my family environment that grew into something else overtime because he did not follow the signs of the body to do the necessary medical examinations.
2. Sleep late
tumblr_mbnid4ir3r1qc4uvwo1_400
Sleep is one of the most significant operations of the human nature that should never be disregarded. It is very important the adults should sleep at least 6-8 hours per day in order to compensate the energy loss of the day. Accordingly, an enough hours sleep can offer to our bodies the energy we need in order to reciprocate to our busy and demanding schedules!
3. Avoid exercise
Exercise is another of the most important actions that we should follow every day. There is no reason that we shoud avoid exercising some times per week! Personally, I try to find little gaps in my schedule when I can work out not only for a better image, but also for my confidence and physical benefit!
4. Eat junk food
c62321ddece147306285322949d3dd59_bad-food-clipart-dont-eat-junk-food-clipart_1133-1122
Junk food is full of saturated -and not only- fat. It is one of the main reasons of the obessity globally. I love junk food -like souvlaki here in Greece and of course all the others- but it is one of the worst things we do daily in our health. It is not only a reason that we gain weight, but also it creates a lot of health problems regarding our hearts etc.
A way to manage this unhealthy habit is to establish some days of the month that you will eat junk food and if you combine that with exercise as well, then believe me, you will love this new habit and you will never have second thoughts or regrets about it 😉
5. Sedentary lifestyle
sedentary-lifestyle-increases-t2d-risk-1440x810Sedentary lifestyle is the worst kind of lifestyle and unfortunately a lot of us have adopted it due to our professional schedules. Most of us sit on a chair for 7-8 or more hours per day in the office and we get back home and rest siting on a couch and watching TV.
Unfortunately, sedentary lifestyle can have very negative effects on our bodies as you can see in the video below:
This is a brief list of my New Year’s resolutions for 2017! There are all DOable things that we should follow and starting from those little things we can further achieve even more! So, start today to build for tomorrow! 
P.S.: I am always available for your comments, feedback and thoughts!
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

